

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

October 16, 2019, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: John Daniel, Dr. Joanna Lein, Brett MacArthur,

Katherine Nations, Kenneth Parker, and Ryan

Walters

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary Rogers

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Renée Launey-Rodolf, Lecrecia Schmidt,

and Jerry Shay

VISITORS: Dr. Vanessa Anton, Northeastern State University;

Dr. Robyn Miller, OK State Department of

Education; Dr. Bryan Duke, University of Central

Oklahoma; Dr. Liz Wilner, Oklahoma City

University; Mr. Nathan Estel, Pearson Evaluation Systems; Dr. Sophia Sweeney, Northeastern State University; Janet Levit, JD, University of Tulsa

Call to Order: Dr. Lein called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the August 21, 2019 Commission Meeting: Ms. Nations made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 21, 2019 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parked seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Nations: approve Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve Mr. Walters: approve

Discussion and Action on State Accreditation for the University of Tulsa: Mr. Parker made a motion to approve seven years of state accreditation for the University of Tulsa. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:approveMr. Walters:approve

Discussion and Action on Adoption of Proposed Permanent Rules - Chapter 10. Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the adoption of the proposed permanent rules - Chapter 10. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:approveMr. Walters:approve

Presentation: Oklahoma Association of Colleges and Teacher Education (OACTE) – Dr. Vanessa Anton, Dr. Liz Wilner, and Dr. Bryan Duke

New Business: None

Program Updates: Ms. Angie Bookout, Senior Coordinator, updated the commission on the school performance reviews. Ms. Renée Launey-Rodolf, Director, updated the commission on upcoming accreditation decisions. Ms. Jennifer Gambrell, Assistant Director, updated the commission on efforts to recruit National Board Teacher Candidates.

Announcements and Informational Items: Dr. Craig announced that there may not be a need for a November Commission meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 3:08 P.M. The minutes of the October 16, 2019 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections	
on December 11, 2019.			
Signed:			
Secretary Micha	el Rogers	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director	_